Contact:
E-mail:
Téléphone: 06 33 65 51 19

Les Américains de Paris Read this page in English

Le 2 juillet 2008, George Bensoussan, Catherine Bastière et l’équipe Expand Drama m’ont filmé et interviewé pour leur documentaire sur les Américains à Paris, intitulé «Les Américains de Paris». L’équipe de montage s’est bien amusé en insérant des dizaines de mes photos de Paris et des manifs aux États-Unis au début, à la fin, et un peu partout dans l’émission, qui a passé sept fois sur NRJ Paris en novembre 2008 et maintes fois par la suite. Ceci est une version abrégée de l’émission, ci-dessous j’ai mis le texte que j’ai écrit à la demande de Georges Bensoussan, qui fut considérablement condensé et raccourci.

Je m’appelle David Henry, je suis américain et je vis à Paris. Je suis venu à Paris en septembre 1996, je venais pour découvrir la vie en France, au début, je pensais rester un ou deux ans. Passé quelques mois, il a fallu trouver du travail, ce que j’ai fait au printemps 1997. J’ai eu ma première grande parution de photographies dans un , pour un éditeur britannique en 1998.

Un photographe en train de marcher sur sur la rue des Barres.

En train de me promèner sur la rue des Barres derrière l’église Saint-Gervais pendant que le caméraman me filme.

Et puis, George W. Bush est devenu président en janvier 2001, ce qui a vraiment changé le climat politique aux États-Unis. J’avais déjà connu douze ans de régime républicain, de 1980 jusqu’en 1992. J’ai vécu cette période comme un exil interne… Peu après l’élection de Ronald Reagan tout genre de subventions furent coupées et on était choqué de voir de plus en plus de SDF dans la rue. Dans les années 1970, quand j’étais adolescent, on voyait quelques SDF, mais il y avait toujours une explication plus ou moins compréhensible pour laquelle la personne était sans abri.

David Henry en vidéo:

Donc avec un président Bush de nouveau, ça ne me disait pas de rentrer aux États-Unis, j’ai déjà vécu l’exil interne et je préfère le vrai. Ensuite, sont venus les événements du 11 septembre 2001. C’était grave et lamentable, mais l’administration Bush a choisi carrément la mauvaise réponse.

On a eu notre petite guerre en Afghanistan, très bien, parce que c’était là où se trouvait Oussama Ben Laden et ses Talibans. Mais faire la guerre en Iraq était complètement insensé, fabriqué de toutes pièces. En gros, les attentats à New York et Washington ont donné une raison d’être au régime Bush, lui donnant des prétextes d’installer un climat de peur et distraire la population de son manque de vision. Je n’avais plus franchement aucune envie de rentrer et vivre aux États-Unis après le 11 septembre.

Un photographe à Paris avec son Nikon F4.

Sur les berges de la Seine, sur l’île Saint-Louis, je regarde vers Notre-Dame.

J’aime bien les grandes villes pour leur côté cosmopolite, par contre je trouve les grandes villes américaines écrasantes à cause de leurs gratte-ciels. À New-York, il y a des vastes régions où le soleil ne touche pas la chaussée, tellement les bâtiments sont grands. Au centre-ville, il n’y a pas grande chose d’intéressant pour madame ou monsieur tout le monde: au rez-de-chaussée ce sont des banques, des cabinets d’avocats, d’assureurs, etc.

J’aime Paris parce que c’est une grande ville, une métropole, l’un des centres du monde. Les artistes en tournée vont pour la plupart faire une escale (ce n’est pas forcément le cas à Boston d’où je viens), et on peut voir le monde entier tout en restant à Paris. Mais à la différence de New York, on n’a pas l’impression que Paris soit une grande ville: tout est à l’échelle humaine, on fait de longues promenades et on passe de quartier en quartier, ça change d’ambiance un peu mais on est toujours dans la même ville. Même dans les quartiers financiers il y a de quoi intéresser les gens ordinaires au niveau de la rue, des cafés, restaurants, fleuristes, boutiques, etc.

Un photographe en train de prendre une photo avec son Nikon F4.

Une autre photo de moi avec mon F4, l’appareil haute-gamme, dernier crie de Nikon sortie en 1988.

Dans les derniers soixante ans, l’urbanisation américaine a été faite autour de la voiture. Dans la plupart des villes et autres agglomérations aux États-Unis, il faut conduire cinq minutes pour acheter le moindre stick de chewing-gum ou un journal. Paris est très praticable à pied et à vélo, et je me sens plus à l’aise dans la texture urbaine de Paris, des gens à tour de bras, des commerces et ressources partout.

Je n’avais jamais vécu de la photo à Boston, la vie est chère, le matériel photo aussi, et je faisais des boulots alimentaires. Je ne suis pas très doué pour le marketing «actif», c’est-à-dire la prospection, j’ai du mal à deviner ce qui peut intéresser les gens et j’ai toujours peur de les embêter. Par contre, il paraît que je suis fort pour ce qui est le marketing «passif», ce que je fais avec mon site web que j’ai commencé il y a dix ans.

Une émission chinoise sur le phénomène da Vinci Code à Paris.

Regarder des extraits d’une émission télé sur le Da Vinci Code dans laquelle j’ai participée.

Le grand bond en avant, pour moi, fut la prises en été 2004 pour l’édition illustrée du roman Le da Vinci Code, sortie novembre 2004. Quelques semaines après avoir pris les photos, je les ai mises sur mon site web, les gens cherchaient déjà des images sur les thèmes évoqués dans le livre, et ça m’a fait venir beaucoup de visiteurs sur le site web. Le livre était une «idée cadeau» de Noël 2004, ce qui à drainé encore du monde sur mon site. Le film basé sur le roman est sorti en mai 2006, et là, c’était la folie!

Ensuite j’ai vendu et revendu les photos maintes fois. Autrement ce projet a fait monter mon site dans les moteurs de recherche. La plupart de mes affaires viennent aujourd’hui grâce à mon site web, et je dois ce succès au Da Vinci Code. Donc on peut dire que c’est mon séjour à Paris qui m’a permis de devenir photographe professionnel.

—David Henry

Allez à la page d’accueil de ce site

Portraits de Paris: avec votre famille, vos proches ou vos amis dans la ville lumière avec les monuments célèbres de Paris en arrière plan.

Regardez les photos que j’ai prises aux États-Unis

Voyez les photos que j’ai prises en voyage en Suisse

Regardez les photos que j’ai prises en Angleterre

Voyez les photos que j’ai publiées dans la série de livres de tourisme et voyage, les “Traveler’s Companions”, des photos du Canada, de la Nouvelle-Angleterre, et de la France méditerranéenne

Stages Photo à Paris: Découvrez les secrets derrière ces images!

Voyez les photos que j’ai prises en voyages en Italie

Regardez les photos que j’ai prises en voyage en Alsace-Lorraine

Décalage horaire et choc culturel: Mes pensées sur la photo à Paris

Voyez les photos que j’ai prises ailleurs en France

Qu’est-ce que les nouvelles technologies veulent dire pour les photographes? Lisez mes pensées sur ce que signifie ce nouveau monde pour des artistes visuels.

Contact:
E-mail:
Phone: 06 33 65 51 19

Les Américains de Paris: On July 2nd 2008, George Bensoussan, Catherine Bastière and the team at Expand Drama interviewed and filmed me for their documentary about Americans in Paris, entitled «Les Américains de Paris». Regardez cette page en français

The editing staff had lots of fun inserting dozens and dozens my pictures of Paris at the beginning, the end, and all throughout the program. The show aired seven times on NRJ Paris, November 2008 and many other times thereafter. The version shown here is a condensed montage showing me and my photographs in the show. Below is the text I wrote for the show (translated from my French), on the request of George Bensoussan, which ended up being considerably edited and shortened.

My name is David Henry, I am American and I live in Paris. I came to Paris in September 1996 to discover life in France. At first I was thinking of staying a year or two, after a few months I needed to find work, which I did in the spring of 1997.

Approaching rue de l’Hôtel de Ville, the restaurant Chez Julian is off to the right.
Walking down rue des Barres behind l’église Saint-Gervais while the cameraman films me.

I had my first major publication of photographs in a for a British publisher. And then George W. Bush became president in January 2001, which drastically changed the political climate in the United States. I had already lived through twelve years of Republican regimes from 1980 until 1992, I experienced that period as an internal exile. Soon after Ronald Reagan was elected all kinds of subsidies were cut and we were shocked to see more and more homeless on the streets. In the 1970s, when I was a teenager, there were some homeless people, but there was always a visible explanation why this or that person was homeless.

So with a President Bush again I had no desire to return to live in the United States, I have already experienced internal exile, and I prefer the real thing. Then came the events of September 11th, 2001. It was shocking and saddening, but the Bush administration had only the worst of responses possible.

David Henry in video:

We had our little war in Afghanistan, very good, since this was where Osama bin Laden and his Taliban were. But attacking Iraq was completely senseless, a war whose justification was invented from nothing. The attacks on New York and Washington gave the Bush regime a raison d’être, an excuse to foment a climate of fear, and distract the people of his lack of vision. I frankly had no desire to return and live in the United States after September 11th.

I have my Nikon F4 on a small tripod, before I “went digital”.
By the river Seine, on île Saint-Louis, looking towards Notre-Dame.

I like big cities for their cosmopolitan aspects, on the other hand, I find big American cities overwhelming because of their skyscrapers. In New York there are vast areas where the sun does not reach the street because the buildings are so tall. In city centers, there’s not much of interest for the average person: the sidewalks are lined with banks, law firms, insurance agencies, etc.

I love Paris because it’s a big city, a metropolis, one of the centers of the world. Most artists and musicians on tour will make a stop in Paris (which is not necessarily the case in Boston where I’m from), and you can see the entire world just staying in Paris. But unlike New York, one does not get the sense that Paris is such a huge city: everything is on a human scale, taking long walks and going from neighborhood to neighborhood, the ambiance changes a bit, but you’re still in the same city. Even financial districts have things of interest to ordinary people at street level, cafes, restaurants, florists, shops, etc.

In the last sixty years, American cities have been built for automobiles. In most cities and agglomerations in the United States you have to drive five minutes to buy a stick of chewing gum or a newspaper. It’s easy to get around in Paris on foot, by bicycle and on the métro, and I feel more comfortable in the urban texture of Paris, with people all around, businesses and resources everywhere.

This camera is so strong and sturdy it could serve as a sledge hammer if necessary.
Another picture of me with my F4, Nikon’s top-of-the-line professional camera released in 1988.

I was never able to make my living from photography in Boston, life is expensive, photo equipment even more so, and I worked a succession of day jobs. I’m not very good at “active” marketing, i.e. prospection, I find it hard to guess what may interest people and I am always afraid of bothering them. On the other hand, it appears that I’m good at “passive” marketing, which is what I do with my website, which I started in 2000.

My great leap forward was I took in the summer of 2004 for the illustrated edition of the novel “The da Vinci Code”, released in November 2004. A few weeks after taking the pictures, I put them on my web site, people were already looking for images on the themes mentioned in the book, and the pictures brought more visitors to my website. The book was a “gift idea” of Christmas 2004, which brought even more traffic to my site. The film based on the novel was released in May 2006, and the interest it generated was impressive, to say the least!

I sold and resold the photos many times over. The photographs for the novel pushed my site up in the search engines. Most of my business now comes through my web site, and I owe this success to the Da Vinci Code. So it can be said that it has been the years living in Paris which allowed me to become a professional photographer.

—David Henry

The mailbox:

Your photos of Paris are remarkable! You obviously have talent. However, your anti-American prose stinks. Why not just put a warning on your website that reads: Warning, only liberal democ-rats welcomed!

—Jean-Charles Gifford, an American in Montreal, March 15th 2010

Hello Jean-Charles,

Thanks so much for your kind words about my pictures, and thanks for visiting my web site!

I’m not sure what you mean by “anti-American prose”. My political views were formed at a very young age, when my father served in the Army from 1967 to 1971, spending the last year of his service in South Vietnam.

It be might helpful to mention that I’m from Boston, where Obama carried 80% of the vote in the elections of 2008. Most people in Massachusetts would have no problem at all with whatever I have written on my web site, so I am comfortably in the mainstream as concerns all that.

With your opinions about Democrats, you would be the minority in New England (aside from New Hampshire perhaps), and for the most part people in the northeast of the United States would give you a weird look if you said something about liberals being rats…

All the best,
David


Go to the home page of my web site

Enter the gallery of Parisian photographs

See the pictures I’ve taken in the United States

Portraits in Paris: with your family, friends and loved ones in the City of Lights, and the famous monuments of Paris in the background.

Jetlag and culture shock: Read my thoughts on what it is like taking pictures in Paris

See the pictures I’ve taken in England

Take a look at the pictures I have taken on trips to Italy

Photography workshops in Paris: Learn the secrets behind these pictures!

See the pictures I took on a trip through Alsace-Lorraine, France

What does all this new technology mean for photographers? Read my thoughts on this what this Brave New World means for visual artists.

Take a look at the pictures I took on a trip through Switzerland

See the pictures I’ve taken elsewhere in France

Take a look at the pictures I published in the Traveler’s Companion series of tourism/travel guide books, pictures of Canada, New England, and Mediterranean France